News (Proprietary)
Fire and Faith, Renewal and Hope: Travelers Rest Baptist Church celebr...
1+ week, 1+ day ago (318+ words) The church began in 1913 under the leadership of the Rev. Cephas. What began as a time for prayer meetings turned into church services at a home on Reed St. and continued to grow. By 1922, the Rev. John L. Williams was elected pastor, and property on Pearl St. was purchased. Williams drew the designs for the church, and church members worked nights building benches and preparing the church for services. Williams served the church until he died in 1931. For the next 50 years, the Rev. J.H. Williams led the church alongside his wife, Sister Martha J. Williams, and their daughter, Willie Lee. Despite financial hardship, the church flourished spiritually and added new ministries. Tragedy struck on March 23, 1970, when fire nearly destroyed the church building on Pearl St. The back of the structure was gutted. While the church was being rebuilt, services were held at the…...